Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
Background Image URL //
ACOSA Awards and Recent Recipients

Career Achievement Award: This award honors the lifetime contribution of a person in the field.
  • Michael Reisch (2019)
  • Mark Homan (2018)
  • Tracy Michael Soska (2017)
  • Steve Burghardt (2016)
  • John Tropman (2015)


Mid-Career Achievement Award: The Mid-Career Achievement Award honors the meritorious service and scholarship contributions of a mid-career person in the field.

  • Julie Birkenmaier (2019)

The Marie O. Weil Outstanding Scholarship Award: This award recognizes outstanding scholarship published in the Journal of Community Practice during the previous volume year. Authors are selected for their contribution to the field, scholarly approach, and/or promotion of macro practice values. Taylor and Francis, the journal publisher, co-sponsors this award.

  • Robert A. Case & Laura Zeglen (2019)
  • Sean Young, Teresa Neumann & Philip Nyden (2019)
  • Megan E. Gilster & Cristian L. Meier (2018)
  • Akilah Dulin Keita, Lonnie Hannon, David Buys, Krista Casazza, & Olivio Clay (2017)
  • Michael J. Parks (2016)
  • Alice B. Gates (2015)


Emerging Scholar Award: This award honors a recent Ph.D. (pre-tenure) who is doing meritorious scholarship in the field.

  • Jama Shelton (2019)
  • Megan Paceley (2018)
  • Jaime M. Booth (2017)
  • Samantha Teixeira (2016)
  • Terri Friedline (2015)


Doctoral Student Award: This award honors a current PhD student who is doing meritorious scholarship in the field.

  • Kerri Evans (2019)
  • Joel Izlar (2017)
  • John Mathias (2016)


Outstanding Practitioner Award: This award honors the significant contribution to a community of a BSW or MSW level macro practitioner.

  • Eric Jackson (2019)
  • Lora D. Hicks McDonald (2018)
  • Charles Edward Lewis, Jr. (2017)
  • Andrea Paluso (2016)


Outstanding Student Award: This award recognizes the contribution of a BSW or MSW student who has been involved in community or organizational practice currently or in the past.

  • Bezil Taylor (2019)
  • Danny Vang (2018)
  • Emma Martinez(2017)
  • Wayne State University School of Social Work Association of Black Social Workers (ABSW) (2017)
  • Coalition of Community Social Workers, Wayne State University (2016)
  • Jason Ostrander (2015)